Live Your Dream Award

Most applications are submitted directly to
Soroptimist International of the Americas
online. Deadline for application forms is
November 15th.


For information on local club awards click on the club name below:

- SI Algona
- SI Des Moines
- SI Fort Madison

- SI Twin Cities
- SI Red River Valley
- SI Virginia

- SI Lincoln

North Dakota:
- SI Red River Valley

South Dakota:
- SI Sioux Falls



Live Your Dream Education and Training Awards for Women

The Live Your Dream Award, Soroptimist's major service project,
was established by Soroptimist International of the Americas in 1972
to assist women entering or re-entering the workforce in obtaining the
education and skills training they need to improve their employment status.

Live Your Dream Awards are designed to give
women heads of household, who provide the primary
source of financial support for their families, the
opportunity to achieve their career goals—an
opportunity they have not previously had, whether
because of economic or social barriers, or personal
circumstances. These awards are for women who
are attending, or have been accepted to, a vocational/skills
training program, or an undergraduate degree program.

Club winners become eligible to receive region–level
awards. Every year, 29 geographic regions throughout
North, Central and South America, and Asia each grant
one $5,000 first–place award, and one or more $3,000
awards. The first place winners continue on to compete
for federation awards of $10,000.

Eligibility Requirements

You are eligible to apply for the Soroptimist Live Your Dream Awards if you are a woman who:

  • Provides the primary financial support for yourself and your dependents. Dependents can include children, spouse, partner, siblings and/or parents.
  • Has financial need.
  • Is enrolled in or has been accepted to a vocational/skills training program or an undergraduate degree program.
  • Is motivated to achieve your education and career goals.
  • Resides in one of Soroptimist International of the Americas’ member countries/territories (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia,
    Ecuador, Guam, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Northern Mariana Islands, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Taiwan, United States of America, Venezuela).
  • Has not previously been the recipient of a Soroptimist Women’s Opportunity or Live Your Dream Award.
  • Does not have a graduate degree.
  • Is not a Soroptimist member, an employee of Soroptimist International of the Americas or immediate family of either.
  • Has a Social Security number or Tax ID number. (This is required for tax purposes and is only necessary if you are a resident of the United States. You will not be asked to share this information unless you have been given an award.)


Applications are accepted each year
from August 1st until November 15th by Soroptimist International of the
Americas through the Onlne Application Portal.
The portal closes on November 15th so applications received after November 15th and before August 1st will
not be considered.


Online Application Portal

Improving the lives of women & girls through programs leading to social and economic empowerment
© Copyright 2010 North Central Region Soroptimist International of the Americas. Site last updated September 1, 2010